New Arrivals

Pages

How to Win Friends and Influence People in the Digital Age

How to Win Friends and Influence People in the Digital Age Dale - Carnegie & Associates
Author: 
Dale Carnegie & Associates
ISBN: 
9780857207289
Added: 
15th January

Since its initial publication, How to Win Friends and Influence People has sold a total of 15 million copies.

The book continues to sell briskly today, but Carnegie never anticipated the ways in which the digital age would provide new tools and challenges for winning friends and influencing people.

The Business of Sleep - How Sleeping Better Can Transform Your Career

The Business of Sleep - How Sleeping Better Can Transform Your Career by Vicki Culpin
Author: 
Vicki Culpin
ISBN: 
9781472936578
Added: 
15th January

While a number of world leaders may have claimed to be able to make do with five hours of sleep per night, for many people that little amount of sleep can and even in the short term have serious and damaging side-effects. Major disasters have occurred as a result of poor sleep, from the destruction of the Challenger space shuttle to nuclear meltdowns such as Chernobyl and Three Mile Island, but more prevalent effects can include health disorders, the rise of depression and poor memory retention.

Can't Hurt Me Master Your Mind and Defy the Odds

Can't Hurt Me Master Your Mind and Defy the Odds by David Goggins
Author: 
David Goggins
ISBN: 
9781544512273
Added: 
15th January

For David Goggins, childhood was a nightmare - poverty, prejudice, and physical abuse coloured his days and haunted his nights. But through self-discipline, mental toughness, and hard work, Goggins transformed himself from a depressed, overweight young man with no future into a U.S. Armed Forces icon and one of the world's top endurance athletes.

Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy, Social World

Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy, Social World by Gary Vaynerchuk
Author: 
Gary Vaynerchuk
ISBN: 
9780062273062
Added: 
15th January

New York Times bestselling author and social media expert Gary Vaynerchuk, shares hard-won advice on how to connect with customers and beat the competition. When managers, marketers, and small business owners outline their social media strategies, they plan for the `right hook`- their next campaign that will produce profits.

Everything is Figureoutable

Everything is Figureoutable by Marie Forleo
Author: 
Marie Forleo
ISBN: 
9780241341032
Added: 
15th January

'This book delivers a knockout punch to whatever is holding you back' Cheryl Strayed, author of Wild Do you ever have trouble finishing what you start? Do amazing ideas come to you all the time but after the initial excitement wanes you struggle to follow through? If you're creative and ambitious, the answer is likely yes.

Before We Was We: Madness by Madness

Before We Was We: Madness by Madness
Author: 
Mike Barson; Mark Bedford; Chris Foreman; Graham McPherson; Cathal Smyth; Lee Thompson; Dan Woodgate
ISBN: 
9780753553923
Added: 
26th November

The first official book by Madness.
North London - the mid-70s. Admist a background of bomb sites, squats, public houses, national strikes, National Front and at the very start of Thatcher's Britain, a recalcitrant collective of misfits and outsiders were about to make a name for themselves. Escaping the fringes of criminality, they began to form a band...
This is their story, in their own words.

Reserve a copy
 

Back to Amy

Back to Amy
Author: 
Charles Moriarty
ISBN: 
9781788400596
Added: 
26th November

Happy, beautiful and full of fun - this is an intimate portrait of the real Amy Winehouse.

With over 100 photographs - many seen here for the first time - along with personal stories and recollections from Amy's mother, Janis Winehouse, as well as Amy's band members and others close to her, this is a celebration of a young artist on the cusp of fame. Taken by a friend at a relaxed photoshoot just before she released her debut album, these beautiful images give an early glimpse of the girl who would captivate the world.

Epic Runs of the World by Lonely Planet

Epic Runs of the World by Lonely Planet
Author: 
Part of the Lonely Planet series
ISBN: 
9781788681261
Added: 
26th November

Explore 50 of the world's greatest running routes, from short urban runs to cross-country trails and must-do marathons.

Entries include China's Great Wall Marathon, the Amalfi Coast's Path of the Gods, Australia's Blue Mountains ultra, the 10k Great Ethiopian Run, Chicago's Lakefront Trail and the Barkley Marathons.
 

Reserve a copy

The Murderer's Apprentice: Inspector Ben Ross Mystery 7

Image of book cover The Murderer's Apprentice: Inspector Ben Ross Mystery 7 by Ann Granger
Author: 
Ann Granger
ISBN: 
9781472252692
Added: 
14th October

Dense fog masks foul play in the streets of London, as Ann Granger brings us her seventh Victorian mystery featuring Scotland Yard's Inspector Ben Ross and his wife Lizzie.

It is March 1870. London is in the grip of fog and ice. But Scotland Yard's Inspector Ben Ross has more than the weather to worry about when the body of a young woman is found in a dustbin at the back of a Piccadilly restaurant.

Hudson's Kill

Image of book cover Hudson's Kill by Paddy Hirsch
Author: 
Paddy Hirsch
ISBN: 
9781786498151
Added: 
14th October

Hudson's Kill is the second book in this sweeping historical crime drama set in 1th century New York.

New York, 1803. The expanding city is rife with tension, and violence simmers on every street as black and Irish gangs fight for control. When a young girl is found brutally murdered, Marshal Justy Flanagan must find the killer before a mob takes the law into their own hands.

The bear pit

Image of book cover The bear pit by S.G. MacLean
Author: 
S.G. MacLean
ISBN: 
9781787473577
Added: 
14th October

Series title: The Captain Damian Seeker series. London, 1656: Captain Seeker is back in the city, on the trail of an assassin preparing to strike at the heart of Oliver Cromwell's Republic. The Commonwealth is balanced on a knife edge. Royalists and disillusioned former Parliamentarians have united against Oliver Cromwell, now a king in all but name. Three conspirators, representing these factions, plan to assassinate the Lord Protector, paving the way back to the throne for Charles Stuart once and for all.

A season on earth

image of book cover A season on earth by Gerald Murnane
Author: 
Gerald Murnane
ISBN: 
9781925773347
Added: 
14th October

Lost to the world for more than four decades, A Season on Earth is the essential link between two acknowledged masterpieces by Gerald Murnane - the lyrical account of boyhood in his debut novel, Tamarisk Row, and the revolutionary prose of The Plains. A Season on Earth is Murnane’s second novel as it was intended to be, bringing together all of its four sections-the first two of which were published as A Lifetime on Clouds in 1976 and the last two of which have never been in print.

The Most Difficult Thing

Image of book cover The Most Difficult Thing by Charlotte Philby
Author: 
Charlotte Philby
ISBN: 
9780008326982
Added: 
14th October

WHAT WOULD YOU SACRIFICE TO UNCOVER THE TRUTH? `Chilling' Erin Kelly, author of He Said/She Said `Compulsive read' Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange `Enigmatic' Louise Candlish, author of Our House `Brilliant' Jon Snow, Channel 4 News On the surface, Anna Witherall personifies everything the aspirational magazine she works for represents. Married to her university boyfriend David, she has a beautiful home and gorgeous three-year-old twin daughters, Stella and Rose.

A Dangerous Man

Image of book cover of A Dangerous Man by Robert Crais
Author: 
Robert Crais
ISBN: 
9781471157615
Added: 
20th August

You've never met an investigator like Elvis Cole. And he's back in the extraordinary new thriller from global bestseller Robert Crais. Joe Pike didn't expect to rescue a woman that day. When Isabel Roland, the lonely young teller at his bank, steps out of work on her way to lunch, Joe Pike witnesses her attempted abduction. Thanks to his quick thinking, the two men are arrested. But the men soon make bail... and not long after, they're found murdered. The police suspect Pike and Isabel had a hand in it, especially when Izzy disappears.

The Possession

Image of the Hard back cover of The Possession Michael Rutger
Author: 
Michael Rutger
ISBN: 
9781785767678
Added: 
20th August

A gripping and suspenseful thriller perfect for fans of Stephen King and Michael Crichton. A group of explorers arrive in the remote town of Birchlake, Northern California, to investigate the appearance of mysterious stone walls. A teenage girl has disappeared without a trace. Soon it becomes clear that the two events may be connected in the most terrifying way. Because sometimes the walls we build end up closing us in.

Return to Zero: Lorien Legacies Reborn 

Image of Book Return to Zero: Lorien Legacies Reborn by Pittacus Lore
Author: 
Pittacus Lore
ISBN: 
9780718188788
Added: 
20th August

In this dramatic conclusion, the Legacies, Loric, Earth Garde and even the Mogadorians come together for a final, deadly showdown. After the battle in Switzerland, the Fugitive Six find their loyalties torn, splitting them into two factions. Taylor, Nigel and Kopano join Nine to return to the Academy, but nothing is the same. Fear and resentment of the Human Garde has been growing and the Academy is under siege.

The Last Widow

Image of Cover of the hard back book The Last Widow by Karin Slaughter
Author: 
Karin Slaughter
ISBN: 
9780008303389
Added: 
20th August

From the No.1 bestselling author comes a gripping new crime thriller featuring Will Trent and Sara Linton. It begins with abduction. The routine of a family shopping trip is shattered when Michelle Spivey is snatched as she leaves the mall with her young daughter. The police search for her, her partner pleads for her release, but in the end...they find nothing. It's as if she disappeared into thin air. A month later, on a sleepy Sunday afternoon, medical examiner Sara Linton is at lunch with her boyfriend Will Trent, an agent with the Georgia Bureau of Investigation.

Cygnet

Image of book cover Cygnet by Season Butler
Author: 
Season Butler
ISBN: 
9780349700328
Added: 
20th August

'Terribly moving. A clear-sighted, poignant rumination on loneliness, love, the melancholy of age and of youth - and, in its quiet way, the end of the world' China Mieville The Kid doesn't know where her parents are. They left with a promise to come back months ago, and now their seventeen-year-old daughter is stranded on Swan Island. Swan isn't just any island; it is home to an eccentric old age separatist community who have shunned life on the mainland for a haven which is rapidly sinking into the ocean.

Pages