New Arrivals

The Dollmaker of Krakow

Author: 
R. M. Romero
Added: 
6th June

A timeless fantasy set in the Second World War that weaves together magic, folklore and history, perfect for fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Goodnight Mister Tom. One night a little doll named Karolina comes to life in a toyshop in Krakow, Poland, in 1939 and changes the life of the gruff, broken-hearted Dollmaker. And when the darkness of the Nazi occupation sweeps over the city, Karolina and the Dollmaker must bravely use their magic to save their Jewish friends from a terrible danger, no matter what the risks.

Spellslinger

Author: 
Sebastien de Castell
Added: 
6th June

How do you survive a mage's duel without magic? Kellen's about to risk everything: His family, his home, even his own life...

Of Mice and Men (Dyslexia-Friendly Edition)

Author: 
John Steinbeck
Added: 
6th June

A dyslexia-friendly edition of John Steinbeck’s timeless classic, in a format accessible to all readers. This edition is presented using Barrington Stoke’s specially-designed font, increased spacing and tinted paper.
Savvy George and gentle giant Lennie are drifters, hustling for a living in a string of dead-end jobs. George looks out for Lennie as they move from town to town, running from trouble and dreaming big. A place of their own, a piece of land, a bit of money. But trouble follows Lennie like a shadow, and George has his work cut out to keep him safe.

La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One (Book of Dust Series)

Author: 
Philip Pullman
Added: 
6th June

Shortisted for the YA Book Prize 2018

Set in the world so masterfully established by Philip Pullman in his trilogy His Dark Materials, La Belle Sauvage is a story of survival, where two children, with everything at stake, find themselves pursued by a terrifying evil. In their care is a tiny child, and in that child lies the fate of the future.

Eleven-year-old Malcolm Polstead and his dæmon, Asta, live with his parents at the Trout Inn near Oxford, on the banks of the River Thames which Malcolm navigates using his beloved canoe, a boat by the name of La Belle Sauvage. 

This Careless Life

Author: 
Rachel McIntyre
Added: 
6th June

Four best friends with perfect lives. A once in a lifetime opportunity. Who can resist the call of fame and fortune? Liv, Hetty, Jez and Duffy are auditioning for a new reality TV show. Producer Cassandra has warned them the process might be tough, but they are excited and keen to get on with things, confident that they can handle anything. But when Cass produces a photo of a body, everyone realises that they may have something to hide after all.