New Arrivals

Pages

Tell Me Your Secret

Image of book Tell Me Your Secret by Dorothy Koomson
Author: 
Dorothy Koomson
ISBN: 
9781472260376
Added: 
20th August

The new emotional thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Ice Cream Girls, My Best Friend's Girl and The Brighton Mermaid. Dorothy Koomson, 'Queen of the big reveal', is back with a gripping page-turner full of twists and turns. Pieta has a secret. Ten years ago, Pieta was kidnapped by a man calling himself The Blindfolder who said he wouldn't kill her if she kept her eyes closed for 48 hours. She never told anyone what happened to her, vowing to move on with her life.

A Dangerous Man

Image of book cover of A Dangerous Man by Robert Crais
Author: 
Robert Crais
ISBN: 
9781471157615
Added: 
20th August

You've never met an investigator like Elvis Cole. And he's back in the extraordinary new thriller from global bestseller Robert Crais. Joe Pike didn't expect to rescue a woman that day. When Isabel Roland, the lonely young teller at his bank, steps out of work on her way to lunch, Joe Pike witnesses her attempted abduction. Thanks to his quick thinking, the two men are arrested. But the men soon make bail... and not long after, they're found murdered. The police suspect Pike and Isabel had a hand in it, especially when Izzy disappears.

The Possession

Image of the Hard back cover of The Possession Michael Rutger
Author: 
Michael Rutger
ISBN: 
9781785767678
Added: 
20th August

A gripping and suspenseful thriller perfect for fans of Stephen King and Michael Crichton. A group of explorers arrive in the remote town of Birchlake, Northern California, to investigate the appearance of mysterious stone walls. A teenage girl has disappeared without a trace. Soon it becomes clear that the two events may be connected in the most terrifying way. Because sometimes the walls we build end up closing us in.

Return to Zero: Lorien Legacies Reborn 

Image of Book Return to Zero: Lorien Legacies Reborn by Pittacus Lore
Author: 
Pittacus Lore
ISBN: 
9780718188788
Added: 
20th August

In this dramatic conclusion, the Legacies, Loric, Earth Garde and even the Mogadorians come together for a final, deadly showdown. After the battle in Switzerland, the Fugitive Six find their loyalties torn, splitting them into two factions. Taylor, Nigel and Kopano join Nine to return to the Academy, but nothing is the same. Fear and resentment of the Human Garde has been growing and the Academy is under siege.

The Last Widow

Image of Cover of the hard back book The Last Widow by Karin Slaughter
Author: 
Karin Slaughter
ISBN: 
9780008303389
Added: 
20th August

From the No.1 bestselling author comes a gripping new crime thriller featuring Will Trent and Sara Linton. It begins with abduction. The routine of a family shopping trip is shattered when Michelle Spivey is snatched as she leaves the mall with her young daughter. The police search for her, her partner pleads for her release, but in the end...they find nothing. It's as if she disappeared into thin air. A month later, on a sleepy Sunday afternoon, medical examiner Sara Linton is at lunch with her boyfriend Will Trent, an agent with the Georgia Bureau of Investigation.

Cygnet

Image of book cover Cygnet by Season Butler
Author: 
Season Butler
ISBN: 
9780349700328
Added: 
20th August

'Terribly moving. A clear-sighted, poignant rumination on loneliness, love, the melancholy of age and of youth - and, in its quiet way, the end of the world' China Mieville The Kid doesn't know where her parents are. They left with a promise to come back months ago, and now their seventeen-year-old daughter is stranded on Swan Island. Swan isn't just any island; it is home to an eccentric old age separatist community who have shunned life on the mainland for a haven which is rapidly sinking into the ocean.

The Warlow Experiment

Book Cover of The Warlow Experiment by Alix Nathan
Author: 
Alix Nathan
ISBN: 
9781788161695
Added: 
24th July

The year is 1792 and Herbert Powyss is set on making his name as a scientist.

Herbert Powyss lives on a small estate in the Welsh Marches, with enough time and income to pursue a gentleman's fashionable cultivation of exotic plants and trees. But he longs to make his mark in the field of science - something consequential enough to present to the Royal Society in London.

Sweet Sorrow

Book cover Sweet Sorrow by David Nicholls
Author: 
David Nicholls
ISBN: 
9781444715408
Added: 
24th July

In 1997, Charlie Lewis is the kind of boy you don't remember in the school photograph. His exams have not gone well. At home he is looking after his father, when surely it should be the other way round, and if he thinks about the future at all, it is with a kind of dread.

Then Fran Fisher bursts into his life and despite himself, Charlie begins to hope.

The Carer

Cover of book spine The Carer by Deborah Moggach
Author: 
Deborah Moggach
ISBN: 
9781472260482
Added: 
24th July

From the bestselling author of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and Tulip Fever, a deliciously funny, poignant and wry novel, full of surprising twists and turns. 

James is getting on a bit and needs full-time help. So Phoebe and Robert, his middle-aged offspring, employ Mandy, who seems willing to take him off their hands. 

But as James regales his family with tales of Mandy's virtues, their shopping trips, and the shared pleasure of their journeys to garden centres, Phoebe and Robert sense something is amiss. 

Nightingale Point

Cover image of the book Nightingale Point by Luan Goldie
Author: 
Luan Goldie
ISBN: 
9780008314453
Added: 
24th July

Debut Novel from the winner of the Costa Short Story Award.

On an ordinary Saturday morning in 1996, the residents of Nightingale Point wake up to their normal lives and worries. 

Mary has a secret life that no one knows about, not even Malachi and Tristan, the brothers she vowed to look after. 

Malachi had to grow up too quickly. Between looking after Tristan and nursing a broken heart, he feels older than his twenty-one years. 

Marilyn and Me

Book Cover Marilyn and Me by Ji-min Lee
Author: 
Ji-min Lee
ISBN: 
9780008322311
Added: 
23rd July

A gripping and heart wrenching novel of damage and survival, grief and unexpected solace, Marilyn and Me is a fascinating - and timely - insight into an extraordinary time and place.

Secrets of Santorini

Book cover of Secrets of Santorini by Patricia Wilson
Author: 
Patricia Wilson
ISBN: 
9781785768972
Added: 
23rd July

If you love Victoria Hislop, Lucinda Riley and Elizabeth Edmondson, you'll love this perfect holiday read from the author of Islands of Secrets and Villa of Secrets. 

Sent away to a convent school in Dublin at the age of five, Irini McGuire has always had a strained and distant relationship with her mother, Bridget, a celebrated archaeologist who lives on the paradise island of Santorini. So, when Irini receives news that Bridget has been injured at a dig and is in a coma, she knows it is finally time to return to the island of her birth.

Little Big Love

Author: 
Katy Regan
ISBN: 
9781509898329
Added: 
14th May

Liam Jones is the love of Juliet’s life. He was her brother’s best friend first, then hers, then the father of her son. In those shining weeks after Zac was born, she’d never been happier, and neither had Liam.
Until the night he disappeared without a trace.
Zac is now ten, and collects facts: octopuses have three hearts; the world’s heaviest man weighed over 100 stone; only three species of animal have a blue tongue. The one piece of information he really wants, though, is the truth about why his father left.

Silent Night

Author: 
Danielle Steel
ISBN: 
9781509877720
Added: 
14th May

Silent Night is a powerful family drama and an example of the world’s favourite storyteller, Danielle Steel, at her most moving and compelling. Emotionally gripping and richly involving, Silent Night explores how the heart has mysterious healing powers of its own, and that sometimes the best things happen when we think all is lost . . . Danielle Steel’s latest novel is a deeply moving story of resilience, hope and the importance of family.

Metropolis

Author: 
Philip Kerr
ISBN: 
9781787473218
Added: 
14th May

Berlin detective Bernie Gunther bows out at last in the 14th and final book of the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling series. With an introduction by Ian Rankin. 'One of the greatest anti-heroes ever written' LEE CHILD 'One of the greatest master story-tellers in English' ALAN FURST Berlin, 1928, the dying days of the Weimar Republic shortly before Hitler and the Nazis came to power. It was a period of decadence and excess as Berliners - after the terrible slaughter of WWI and the hardships that followed - are enjoying their own version of Babylon.

Accidental Agent

Author: 
Alan Judd
ISBN: 
9781471150678
Added: 
14th May

'Charles Thoroughgood, Chief of MI6, keeps the flame of true espionage burning brightly in a contemporary Brexit operation as political correctness threatens to close in on his freewheeling profession - authentic, clever and wonderfully entertaining' Sir Richard Dearlove, ex-Chief of MI6 'Plotting in the best le Carre tradition' Mail on Sunday From the author of Legacy, now a major BBC Film, and The Kaiser's Last Kiss comes a brilliant new novel for fans of John le Carre, Mick Herron and Charles Cumming.

Three Bullets

Author: 
R.J. Ellory
ISBN: 
9781409187783
Added: 
14th May

On 22nd November 1963, John F. Kennedy's presidential motorcade rode through Dealey Plaza. He and his wife Jackie greeted the crowds on a glorious Friday afternoon in Dallas, Texas. BUT WHAT IF IT MISSED? Mitch Newman is a photojournalist based out of Washington, D.C. His phone never rings. When it does, a voice he hasn't heard in years will tell him his former fiancee Jean has taken her own life. WHEN THE TRUTH IS BIGGER THAN ALL THE LIES Jean was an investigative reporter working the case of a lifetime. Somewhere in the shreds of her investigation is the truth behind her murder.

The Big Kahuna

Author: 
Janet Evanovich and Peter Evanovich
ISBN: 
9781472260918
Added: 
14th May

A mysterious disappearance, an enormous fortune and a missing unicorn - it's the weirdest and wildest challenge yet for Janet Evanovich's bestselling sleuths Fox & O'Hare. FBI Agent Kate O'Hare plays by the rules. Charming con man Nicholas Fox makes them up as he goes along. They're working together to tackle the out-of-bounds cases ordinary FBI agents can't touch. Next up: the mysterious disappearance of the Silicon Valley billionaire known as the Big Kahuna. His model wife and shady business partner are more interested in gaining control of his company than in finding him.

The Creativity Code

Author: 
Marcus du Sautoy
ISBN: 
9780008288150
Added: 
8th April

As humans, we have an extraordinary ability to create works of art that elevate, expand and transform what it means to be alive.

Yet in many other areas, new developments in AI are shaking up the status quo, as we find out how many of the tasks humans engage in can be done equally well, if not better, by machines. But can machines be creative? Will they soon be able to learn from the art that moves us, and understand what distinguishes it from the mundane?
 

Pages