Hegarty Elected Cathaoirleach Of Wexford County Council

Tuesday, 20th June 2017
Councillor Hegarty

Press Release – Monday 19 June, 2017.

At this afternoon’s 2017 AGM of Wexford County Council, Gorey District based Councillor John Hegarty (FG) was elected as Cathaoirleach of the Council, replacing out-going Chairman Paddy Kavanagh. It is Councillor Hegarty’s first time to become Cathaoirleach of Wexford County Council, having previously served as Chairman of Gorey Municipal Town Council and also as Chairman of the Council’s Economic Development and Enterprise Strategic Policy Committee. 

Speaking after his election, the new Cathaoirleach thanked his fellow Councillors for giving him the opportunity to serve as Cathaoirleach on their behalf and on behalf of the people of Wexford. Councillor Hegarty paid tribute to out-going Chairman Councillor Paddy Kavanagh, describing Councillor Kavanagh as an extremely capable and fair Cathaoirleach whose use of common sense and quick wit ensured his decisions were respected and supported by all.

Identified a number of priorities

In his address to the Council, Councillor Hegarty identified a number of priorities that he planned to develop during the term of his chairmanship. These include driving forward the Council’s ambitious job creation plans, the achievement of “healthy” designation for County Wexford and the development of additional communication and dialogue opportunities between the Council and the public. The Cathaoirleach also pledged his attention to the completion of the process of revising the County’s speed limits and to the reinvigoration of the Council’s “Wexford Ambassador” Programme.

 “I look forward to doing my part as Chairman of Wexford County Council in helping to ensure these and many other exciting projects are brought forward and developed and I will be relying on my fellow Councillors and the Council’s Executive to support me in these endeavours” said Councillor Hegarty, adding “It is an honour and a privilege to be given the opportunity to act as Cathaoirleach of Wexford County Council and it is a challenge that I am very much looking forward to.”

Councillor Hegarty will serve as the 120th Cathaoirleach of Wexford County Council. 

Today’s Annual General Meeting also saw the election of Councillor Barbara Anne Murphy (FF) to the position of Vice Chairperson of Wexford County Council.


For further information please contact     David Minogue, Communications Officer
                        T:    053 91 96000
                        M:    087 7619555
                        E:    david.minogue@wexfordcoco.ie