# **WEXFORD COUNTY COUNCIL**

Minutes of Annual Meeting of Wexford County Council held on Monday 28 June, 2021 – 2.30pm.

Hybrid meeting – with attendance in Council Chamber and via MS TEAMS

# Attendance:

In the Chair: Cllr. Ger Carthy, Cathaoirleach.

#### Councillors:

BARDEN	PAT	FARRELL	MARY	MOORE	JIM
BELL	MAURA	FLEMING	JOHN	MURPHY	BARBARA-ANNE
BOLGER	ANDREW	FORDE	TOM	MURPHY	BRIDIN
BREEN	PIP	HEGARTY	JOHN	O'ROURKE	JOHN
BROWNE	AIDAN	HYNES	DAVID	O'SUILLEABHAIN	FIONNTAIN
BYRNE	CATHAL	KAVANAGH	WILLIE	OWENS	JACKSER
CODD	JIM	KELLY	LEONARD	SHEEHAN	MICHAEL
CODD-NOLAN	KATHLEEN	KENNY	DONAL	STAPLES	FRANK
CONNICK	ANTHONY	LAFFAN	GARRY	SULLIVAN	JOE
DEVEREUX	DIARMUID	LAWLOR	GEORGE	WALSH	OLIVER
DONOHOE	ANTHONY	MCDONALD	LISA	WHELAN	MICHAEL

## Officials:

Mr. T. Enright, Chief Executive, Mr. T. Larkin, Director of Services, Ms. C. Godkin, A/Director of Services, Ms. A. O'Neill, Head of Finance, Mr. E. Hore, Director of Services, Ms. A. Byrne, A/Director of Services, Mr. D. Minogue, County Secretary

The Cathaoirleach called the meeting to order and welcomed the attendance, including family members and distinguished guests of those present.

Cllr. Carthy paid tribute to his Councillor colleagues and thanked them for their support to him during his term as Cathaoirleach of the Council. He also thanked the Chief Executive, members of the Management Team and all staff of Wexford County Council for their courtesy, professionalism and public service during the preceding year.

The Cathaoirleach acknowledged the work of Wexford County Council in addressing the challenges of COVID-19 crisis and also paid tribute to the public for their support of the public health measures put in place to manage the Pandemic.

The Cathaoirleach also thanked the outgoing Leas Cathaoirleach Cllr. Garry Laffan for his support to the Cathaoirleach throughout the past year.

All Members joined in congratulating Cllr Carthy on his performance over the past year with many highlighting the outgoing Cathaoirleach's long list of achievements and contributions to the work of the Council during his term of office.

Chief Executive Tom Enright also extended the congratulations of the Executive to the outgoing Cathaoirleach. He highlighted the Covid 19 Helpline, assignment of staff to the Vaccination Centre, the provision of truck-driver testing facilities and the provision of grants to small business as examples of the Council's strong performance in this area and acknowledged the staunch support of the Cathaoirleach in the provision of these services.

Mr. Enright also congratulated out-going Leas Cathairleach Cllr. Garry Laffan for his work and support to the Cathaoirleach throughout the year/

### 1. Election of Cathaoirleach

Cllr. B.A. Murphy was nominated for the position of Cathaoirleach on the proposal of Cllr. L. McDonald, and seconded by Cllr. P. Breen.

Cllr. O.. Walsh was nominated for the position of Cathaoirleach, on the proposal of Cllr. J. Hegarty, and seconded by Cllr. J. Owens.

There followed a roll-call vote, with the result of that vote as follows:

WCC AM - MONDAY 28 JUNE, 2021		Office of Cathaoirleach	
Nomi	nees	MURPHY	DONOHOE
Propos	sed By	Cllr. L. McDonald	Cllr. J. Hegarty
Second	Seconded By		Cllr. J. Owens
Surname	First Name	Vote	Vote
BARDEN	PAT	Abse	nt
BELL	MAURA	Murphy	
BOLGER	ANDREW	Murphy	
BREEN	PIP	Murphy	
BROWNE	AIDAN	Murphy	
BYRNE	CATHAL		Donohoe
CARTHY	GER	Murphy	
CODD	JIM	Murphy	
CODD-NOLAN	KATHLEEN		Donohoe
CONNICK	ANTHONY	Murphy	
DEVEREUX	DIARMUID		Donohoe
DONOHOE	ANTHONY		Donohoe
FARRELL	MARY	Murphy	
FLEMING	JOHN	Murphy	
FORDE	TOM	Absta	ain
HEGARTY	JOHN		Donohoe
HYNES	DAVID	Absta	ain
KAVANAGH	WILLIE	Murphy	
KELLY	LEONARD	Murphy	
KENNY	DONAL	Murphy	
LAFFAN	GARY	Murphy	
LAWLOR	GEORGE	Murphy	
MCDONALD	LISA	Murphy	
MOORE	JIM		Donohoe

MURPHY	BARBARA-ANNE	Murphy	
MURPHY	BRIDIN		Donohoe
O'ROURKE	JOHN	Murphy	
O'SUILLEABHAIN	FIONNTAIN	Absta	ain
OWENS	JACKSER	Murphy	
SHEEHAN	MICHAEL	Murphy	
STAPLES	FRANK		Donohoe
SULLIVAN	JOE	Murphy	
WALSH	OLIVER		Donohoe
WHELAN	MICHAEL	Murphy	
Totals		21	9

On a vote of 21 votes in favour of Cllr. Murphy and 9 votes in favour of Cllr. Donohoe, Cllr. Barbara Anne Murphy was declared elected Cathaoirleach of Wexford County Council for the 2021 - 2022 term of office.

Cllr. Murphy took the Chair.

The Cathaoirleach thanked her proposer and seconder and commiserated with her colleague Cllr. Donohoe. Cllr. Murphy stated that among her priorities for the coming year will be Housing, Job Creation and Community Development, and she stated her intention to be a Cathaoirleach for all.

Cllr. Murphy expressed her wish to see the Council progress a range capital projects including Enniscorthy Technology Park, improvements at the Old Dublin Road Enniscorthy, Trinity Wharf Wexford, St Waleran's Gorey, New Ross Fire Station and developments at Rosslare Port. The Cathaoirleach also noted that the Council will continue to apply for RRDF and URDR funding and indicated her strong support for these applications.

Cllr. Murphy thanked her family for their generous love and support throughout her political career and for accepting the personal sacrifices that were part and parcel of the life of a political family. She also paid tribute to her late father Rory, a former Cathaoirleach of Wexford County Council and said she was extremely proud to be the third female in the history of local government in Wexford to hold the office of Cathaoirleach.

All elected members, together with the Chief Executive joined in congratulating the incoming Cathaoirleach on her election and wished her every success in the year ahead.

### 2. Election of Leas Cathaoirleach

Cllr. A. Connick was nominated for the position of Leas Cathaoirleach, on the proposal of Cllr. G. Carthy and seconded by Cllr. M. Farrell..

Cllr. F. Staples was nominated for the position of Leas Cathaoirleach, on the proposal of Cllr. B. Murphy and seconded by Cllr. J. Moore.

There followed a roll-call vote, with the result of that vote as follows:

WCC AM - MONDAY 28 JUNE, 2021		Office of Leas-Cathaoirleach		
Nomin	ees	CONNICK	STAPLES	
Propose	d By	G. Carthy	B. Murphy	
Seconde	d By	M. Farrell	J. Moore	
Surname	First Name	Vote	Vote	
BARDEN	PAT	ABSEI	NT	
BELL	MAURA	CONNICK		
BOLGER	ANDREW	CONNICK		
BREEN	PIP	CONNICK		
BROWNE	AIDAN	CONNICK		
BYRNE	CATHAL		STAPLES	
CARTHY	GER	CONNICK		
CODD	JIM	CONNICK		
CODD-NOLAN	KATHLEEN		STAPLES	
CONNICK	ANTHONY	CONNICK		
DEVEREUX	DIARMUID		STAPLES	
DONOHOE	ANTHONY		STAPLES	
FARRELL	MARY	CONNICK		
FLEMING	JOHN	CONNICK		
FORDE	TOM	CONNICK		
HEGARTY	JOHN		STAPLES	
HYNES	DAVID	CONNICK		
KAVANAGH	WILLIE	CONNICK		
KELLY	LEONARD	CONNICK		
KENNY	DONAL	CONNICK		
LAFFAN	GARY	CONNICK		
LAWLOR	GEORGE	CONNICK		
MCDONALD	LISA	CONNICK		
MOORE	JIM		STAPLES	
MURPHY	BARBARA-ANNE	CONNICK		
MURPHY	BRIDIN		STAPLES	
O'ROURKE	JOHN	CONNICK		
O'SUILLEABHAIN	FIONNTAIN	CONNICK		
OWENS	JACKSER	ABSEI	NT	
SHEEHAN	MICHAEL	CONNICK		
STAPLES	FRANK		STAPLES	
SULLIVAN	JOE	CONNICK		
WALSH	OLIVER		STAPLES	
WHELAN	MICHAEL	CONNICK		
Total	s	23	9	

On a vote of 23 votes in favour of Cllr. Connick and 9 votes in favour of Cllr. Staples, the Cathaoirleach declared Cllr. Anthony Connick to be elected Leas-Cathaoirleach of Wexford County Council for the 2021- 2022 term of office.

The Leas-Cathaoirleach thanked his proposer and seconder and commiserated with his colleague Cllr. F. Staples. Cllr. Connick also thanked his family for their support to him throughout his political career and stated he was honoured and privileged to hold the position of Leas-Cathaoirleach of Wexford County Council.

All elected members, together with the Chief Executive joined in congratulating the incoming Leas-Cathaoirleach on his election and wished him every success in the year ahead.

### THIS CONCLUDED THE BUSINESS OF THE MEETING.

Daingithe ar an	lá de Iúil, 2021.		
Cllr. Barbar	a Anne Murphy	Anita McLoughlin	
Cathaoirleach		A/County Secretary	