Minutes of the Wexford Local Community Development Committee (LCDC) meeting

Monday, 27th October, 2017 10.00 a.m. – Council Chamber, Wexford County Council, County Hall, Carricklawn, Wexford Town.

Attendance:

<u>In the Chair:</u> Councillor Kathleen Codd-Nolan (Public Sector)

LCDC Members:

Councillor Anthony Donohoe (Public Sector) Councillor Michael Sheehan (Public Sector) Councillor Tony Dempsey (Public Sector)

Mr. Tom Enright, Wexford County Council (Public Sector)

Mr. Kevin Lewis, WWETB

Ms. Bridget Neville, (Wexford Council of Trade Unions)

Ms. Anne Shannon, (Social Inclusion Sector)
Mr. Seán Quirke, Community & Voluntary Sector

Mr. Liam Daly, Department of Social Protection (Public Sector)

Ms. Madeleine Quirke, (Business Sector)

Mr. Brian Kehoe, Wexford Local Development (Private sector)

Ms. Karin Dubsky, (Environmental Sector)
Ms. Jeanne Hendrick, HSE (Public Sector)
Mr. Pat Rath, (Community & Voluntary Sector)
Mr. Brian Toomey, (Social Inclusion Sector)

Mr. Tom Banville, Local Enterprise Office (Public Sector)

Also in attendance: Mr. Ger Mackey, Chief Officer

Mr. Seán Kavanagh, Wexford County Council Ms. Ann Marie Laffan, Wexford County Council Mr. John Carley, Wexford County Council Mr. Michael Sweeney, Wexford County Council

Apologies: Ms. Mary Hamilton, (Community & Voluntary Sector)

Mr. John Joe Kavanagh, Farming Sector Ms. Angela Laffan, Wexford County Council

Election of LCDC Chairperson:

Mr. Mackey opened the meeting by thanking the outgoing Chairperson, Cllr. Dempsey for his work on social inclusion and wished him all the best in his political career. Nominations were then sought for the new Chairperson.

Cllr. Sheehan thanked Cllr. Dempsey for his leadership and work on the LCDC since 2014. He also thanked Cllr. Codd-Nolan for her work as Vice-Chairperson on the LCDC during that time and proposed Cllr. Codd-Nolan for Chairperson of the LCDC. This was seconded by Cllr. Donohoe. As no other candidates were proposed Mr. Mackey deemed Cllr. Codd-Nolan elected as Chairperson of the LCDC.

<u>Proposed:</u> Cllr. Michael Sheehan <u>**Seconded:**</u> Cllr. Anthony Donohoe

Cllr. Codd-Nolan took over as Chairperson and thanked those who nominated her and also Cllr. Dempsey for his professionalism and work as Chairperson of the LCDC for the past 3 years.

Election of LCDC Vice-Chairperson:

The chairperson sought nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson. Cllr. Dempsey proposed Cllr. Sheehan and this was seconded by Cllr. Donohoe. As no other candidates were proposed Cllr. Codd-Nolan deemed Cllr. Sheehan elected as Vice-Chairperson of the LCDC.

Mr. Mackey requested an adjournment of the LCDC meeting to facilitate the holding of the LAG meeting as quorums were required for decisions to be made by the LAG. Mr. Banville left the meeting at this point. Meeting was suspended temporarily to hold the LAG meeting.

<u>Proposed:</u> Cllr. Michael Sheehan <u>**Seconded:**</u> Cllr. Anthony Donohoe

Mr. Banville left the meeting at this point.

Meeting re-started following LAG meeting.

Adoption of Minutes:

The minutes of the Local Community Development Committee (LCDC) meeting of the 24th July, 2017, were adopted.

<u>Proposed:</u> Mr. Tom Enright <u>**Seconded:**</u> Cllr. Tony Dempsey

Matters Arising

None.

Correspondence

The members noted the contents of the presented correspondence, as listed below;

1. E-mail from Wexford PPN re: Graduate.ie programme.

Healthy Ireland Fund

The Chief Officer presented the Application made to the Healthy Ireland Fund with a closing date of Friday 15th September 2017 at 3.00pm, to be ratified. The Chief Officer outlined the procedures followed and the merits of the Application. The ratification of the application was proposed by Cllr. Donohoe and seconded by Cllr. Sheehan and carried unanimously.

<u>Proposed:</u> Cllr. Anthony Donohoe <u>**Seconded:**</u> Cllr. Michael Sheehan

SICAP update

Mr. Kehoe left the room for this agenda item.

Mr. Mackey informed the members that responses to the SICAP Tender for 2018-2022 had been received and he requested that the LCDC give him the authority to appoint the Tender Evaluation Board. The members of the proposed Board were Martina Moloney (Chairperson), Susan Bookle, Ann Gallagher and Seamus Begley. It was agreed unanimously to give Mr. Mackey the requested authority to appoint the SICAP Tender Evaluation Board.

Proposed: Cllr. Michael Sheehan **Seconded:** Mr. Liam Daly

Community Facilities Capital Scheme 2017

Mr. Mackey presented the list of grant applications received under the Community Facilities Capital Scheme 2017 including recommendations for grant funding. It was agreed unanimously to approve the list of grants recommended. Mr. Mackey stated that notifications should be sent out to all applicants by the second week in November.

Proposed: Cllr. Michael Sheehan **Seconded:** Cllr. Anthony Donohoe

Chief Officer's report

Mr. Mackey presented the Chief Officers report which included the following:

- Traveller Community Development Project
- Age Friendly Council
- PPN
- Town and Village Renewal Scheme 2017

The contents of the report were noted by the members.

Local Economic and Community Plan update

Mr. Mackey presented an update on the Local Economic and Community Plan which included information on Science Week 2017 which will be held from 12th to 19th November 2017 and a full programme of events will be held across the County for both adults and children.

Any Other Business

None

Date for Next Meeting:

It was agreed that the Chief Officer would advise the members of the date of the next meeting.