## WEXFORD COUNTY COUNCIL

# Minutes of Annual Meeting of Wexford County Council Held on Monday 23<sup>rd</sup> June 2025 in the Council Chamber at 12 noon (with some remote attendance)

#### Attendance:

In the Chair: Cllr. Pip Breen, Cathaoirleach.

#### **Councillors:**

Barden	Pat	Forde	Tom (Online)	O'Rourke	John
Barron	Vicky (Online)	Kehoe	Pat	Owens	Jackser
Boland	Nicky	Kelly	Leonard	Sheehan	Michael
Browne	Aidan	Kenny	Donal	Staples	Robbie (Online)
Byrne	Patricia	Laffan	Garry	Sullivan	Joe
Carthy	Ger	McDonald	<b>Darragh</b> (Online)	Walsh	Catherine
Codd	Jim	McDonald	Lisa	Walsh	Oliver
Donohoe	Anthony	Murphy	Barbara- Anne		
Doyle	Craig (Online)	Murphy	Bridín (Online)		
Farrell	Mary	Murphy	Marty		
Fleming	John	O'Brien	Aoife Rose (Online)		

#### **Officials:**

- Mr. Tom Banville, A/Director of Services
- Ms. Jacqueline Carroll, Director of Services
- Mr. Michael Drea, County Secretary
- Ms. Carolyne Godkin, Director of Services
- Mr. Eamonn Hore, Director of Services
- Ms. Laura Berney, A/Director of Finance
- Mr. Eddie Taaffe, Chief Executive

Apologies: Ms. Lynda Lacey, Director of Finance, Ms. Liz Hore, Director of Services

## **Cathaoirleach Opening Remarks**

Outgoing Cathaoirleach Cllr. P. Breen opened the Annual Meeting of Wexford County Council and welcomed the attendance. Cllr. Breen welcomed Deputy Malcolm Byrne, Ceann Comhairle Verona Murphy and those in the public gallery.

Cllr. P. Breen thanked Mr. E. Taaffe and all the staff for their support, and he acknowledged the contribution of Leas Cathaoirleach Cllr. G. Carthy. Cllr. Breen thanked his fellow Councillors for their support.

The Members joined in congratulating the outgoing Cathaoirleach representing Wexford County Council and County Wexford with pride, professionalism, and commitment.

Chief Executive Mr. E. Taaffe joined the Elected Members in congratulating the outgoing Cathaoirleach on his professional performance during his year in office. Mr. Taaffe praised Cllr. Breen's calm and courteous manner and for representing the Council nationally and internationally with distinction, acknowledging his outstanding role in leading the Wexford delegation to Savannah.

## 1. Election of Cathaoirleach

Cllr. Joe Sullivan was proposed by Cllr. B.A. Murphy and his nomination was seconded by Cllr. O. Walsh. As there were no other nominations, Cathaoirleach Cllr. P. Breen declared Cllr. Joe Sullivan elected to the position of Cathaoirleach.

Cllr. J. Sullivan was presented by Cllr. P. Breen with the Chain of Office, following which Cllr. J. Sullivan assumed the Chair.

Cllr. Sullivan's first act as Cathaoirleach was to present outgoing Cathaoirleach Cllr. P. Breen with a certificate and medal acknowledging his service.

Cllr. J. Sullivan called for a minute's silence which the chamber observed to mark the passing of Mrs. Ann Brennan, mother of Deputy Brian Brennan.

Cllr. Sullivan thanked his proposer and seconder and acknowledged what a huge honour it is to be elected Cathaoirleach. Cllr. Sullivan thanked Mr. Lorcan Allen and the late Eileen Higgins for giving him an opportunity in politics, and his long-time friend Des Carthy. He also thanked his wife Patricia, and sons Cian and Tom for their help and support.

Cllr. J. Sullivan said he is looking forward to the return of Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann and emphasised the importance of progressing the SETU campus in Wexford, the completion of the M11 – M25 motorway and the development of the St. Waleran's site.

Councillor's G. Carthy, J. Owens, D. Kenny, J. Fleming, P. Breen, G. Laffan, B.A. Murphy, J. Codd, N. Boland, P. Kehoe, P. Barden and A. Donohoe congratulated Cllr. Sullivan on his election. Chief Executive Mr. E. Taaffe welcomed Deputy Malcolm Byrne, Ceann Comhairle Verona Murphy and Cllr. Sullivan's family Trish, Cian, and Tom. Mr. Taaffe congratulated

Cllr. Sullivan and said he is looking forward to working with him over the next twelve months.

### 2. Election of Leas-Cathaoirleach

Cllr. Oliver Walsh was proposed by Cllr. A. Donohoe and his nomination was seconded by. Cllr. P. Breen.

As there were no other nominations Cathaoirleach Cllr. J. Sullivan declared Cllr. O. Walsh elected to the position of Leas Cathaoirleach. Cllr. O. Walsh was presented by Cllr. J. Sullivan with the Chain of Office.

Cllr. O. Walsh thanked his proposer and seconder and congratulated Cllr. Sullivan and his family on his election.

Councillor's J. Codd, J. Owens, B.A. Murphy, M. Sheehan, C. Walsh, P. Barden, and P. Kehoe congratulated Cllr. Walsh on his election.

## 3. Schedule of Council Meetings

On the proposal of Cllr. B.A. Murphy, seconded by Cllr. M. Sheehan the schedule of Council meetings was adopted.

#### THIS CONCLUDED THE BUSINESS OF THE MEETING.

Daingithe ar an

lá de Iúil, 2025.

Cllr. Joe Sullivan Cathaoirleach Michael Drea, County Secretary