Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Gorey-Kilmuckridge Municipal District held remotely on Tuesday, 15th June 2021, at 1:00pm from the Council Chamber, Offices of the Municipal District, Civic Square, Gorey, Co. Wexford

Attendance (In Chamber):

In the Chair: Cllr Joe Sullivan, Cathaoirleach,

Councillors: Cllr Donal Kenny,

Officials: Ms Amanda Byrne. A/District Director,

Ms Liz Stanley, A/District Manager,

Ms Joanne Kehoe, Senior Executive Engineer, Ms Debbie Stanley, Assistant Staff Officer,

Attendance (Microsoft Teams):

Councillors: Cllr Andrew Bolger,

Cllr Pip Breen,

Cllr Diarmuid Devereux, Cllr Anthony Donohoe,

Cllr Mary Farrell, Cllr Willie Kavanagh

Cllr Fionntán Ó'Súilleabháin,

Cllr Oliver Walsh,

Cllr J Sullivan opened the meeting and welcomed members to the Annual Meeting of the Gorey-Kilmuckridge Municipal District.

He expressed his disappointment over not being able to deliver a number of projects to the people of Gorey during his 16 months tenure, namely bringing re-development works at Gorey Town Park to a conclusion, securing a future for Gorey Market House and Courtown Waterworld, securing funding for Esmonde Street Re-generation and the completion of the Gorey-Courtown Footpath. Cllr Sullivan mentioned St. Walerans and Wexford Street, sites which are earmarked for housing developments and hoped that the Council would proceed as quickly as possible with these. He acknowledged that the pandemic impacted on projects to a certain degree but felt it didn't impact on securing funding for Esmonde Street and the Gorey-Courtown Footpath and contractual issues of Gorey Market House. He felt that more administrative matters could have been progressed and hoped that his successor will be in a better position to progress these projects.

Cllr Sullivan thanked all the staff of Gorey-Kilmuckridge MD and wished Michael Drea, former District Manager, well with his recovery following recent health issues.

Ms A Byrne thanked the Cathaoirleach for his support over the last 16 months during what was an exceptional and challenging time for all public representatives.

All members paid tribute to the outgoing Cathaoirleach and disagreed with Cllr Sullivan's words of disappointment. Members felt Cllr Sullivan couldn't have achieved anymore during such exceptional times and wished him well.

Cllr Sullivan invited A/District Director Ms A Byrne to chair the election of An Cathaoirleach.

1. Election of Cathaoirleach

Cllr Willie Kavanagh proposed Cllr. Pip Breen as Cathaoirleach. Cllr. Breen's nomination was seconded by Cllr. Donal Kenny.

Cllr Diarmuid Devereux proposed Cllr. Anthony Donohoe as Cathaoirleach. Cllr. Donohoe's nomination was seconded by Cllr. Oliver Walsh.

The matter was then put to vote, with a roll call. The vote was as follows:

PB
MB
AD
AD
AD
PB
PB
Abstain
PB
AD
5

Cllr Anthony Donohoe

Cllr Pip Breen, on receiving the vote of the majority, was declared elected as Cathaoirleach and assumed the Chair.

Cllr P Breen addressed the meeting and thanked his proposer and seconder for their nomination and support. He acknowledged the huge amount of work to be done and how this was a team job which he intends to facilitate as much as possible.

Cllr A Donohoe also thanked his proposer and seconder and wished Cllr Breen well in his chairmanship. He called on all members to pull together to progress the District's Programme of Works.

All members congratulated the in-coming Cathaoirleach and wished him well in the role.

2. Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach

Cllr Joe Sullivan proposed Cllr Fionntán Ó'Súilleabháin as Leas-Chathaoirleach. Cllr Ó'Súilleabháin 's nomination was seconded by Cllr Andrew Bolger.

Cllr Diarmuid Devereux proposed Cllr Oliver Walsh as Leas-Chathaoirleach. Cllr Walsh's nomination was seconded by Cllr Anthony Donohoe.

The matter was then put to vote, with a roll call. The vote was as follows:

Cllr A Bolger	FÓS
Cllr P. Breen	FÓS
Cllr D. Devereux	OW
Cllr A. Donohoe	OW
Cllr M. Farrell	OW
Cllr W. Kavanagh	FÓS
Cllr D. Kenny	FÓS
Cllr F. Ó'Súilleabháin	FÓS
Cllr J. Sullivan	FÓS
Cllr O. Walsh	OW

Cllr Fionntán Ó'Súilleabháin 5 Cllr Oliver Walsh 4

Cllr Fionntán Ó'Súilleabháin, on receiving the vote of the majority, was declared elected as Leas-Chathaoirleach and addressed the meeting.

Cllr Ó'Súilleabháin thanked his proposer and seconder for their nomination and support and said he was very honoured to hold this position. He thanked all his colleagues and said he hoped to progress projects in North Wexford. Cllr O Walsh also thanked his proposer and seconder and wished Cllr Ó'Súilleabháin well in the role.

Cllr J Sullivan commiserated with Cllr A Donohoe acknowledging his committment to the District. He also offered his congratulations to Cllr P Breen and said he would look forward to him leading the GKMD District in the next 12 months. He hoped that the Committee could all work together to deliver some of the Special Projects for the betterment of the people of Gorey and Kilmuckridge and that Covid-19 wouldn't hamper the newly elected Cathaoirleach as it did himself.

Cllr P Breen thanked all the Committee for their kind words and offered his commiserations to Cllr A Donohoe.

THIS CONCLUDED THE BUSINESS OF THE MEETING.

Daingnithe ar an	la de	2021
		Pip Breen,
		Cathaoirleach,
		Gorey-Kilmuckridge Municipal District.