#### Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Gorey-Kilmuckridge Municipal District held on Tuesday, 20<sup>th</sup> June 2023, at 2:00pm in the Council Chamber, Offices of the Municipal District, Civic Square, The Avenue, Gorey, Co. Wexford

#### Attendance:

In the Chair:	Cllr Donal Kenny, Cathaoirleach, Cllr Andrew Bolger, Cllr Pip Breen, Cllr Diarmuid Devereux, Leas-Chathaoirleach, via MS Teams, Cllr Anthony Donohoe, Cllr Mary Farrell, Cllr Willie Kavanagh, Cllr Willie Kavanagh, Cllr Donal Kenny, Cllr Fionntán Ó'Súilleabháin, Cllr Joe Sullivan, Cllr Oliver Walsh, via MS Teams,
Officials:	Mr. Tom Enright, Chief Executive, Mr. Diarmuid Houston, A/Director of Services/District Director, Mr. Philip Knight, Municipal District Administrator,

An Cathaoirleach, Cllr Donal Kenny opened the meeting and welcomed members to the Annual Meeting of the Gorey-Kilmuckridge Municipal District.

Ms. Joanne Kehoe, Senior Executive Engineer, Ms. Debbie Stanley, Assistant Staff Officer.

Cllr D Kenny reflected on his time in the role during the past year, paying tribute to his Leas-Chathaoirleach, Cllr Diarmuid Devereux, fellow members, and to all the staff of the Gorey-Kilmuckridge MD.

Cllr Kenny referred to various civic functions held for visiting Ambassador's to Ireland, event & festival openings and paid tribute to important projects that completed throughout the district during his tenure. He also referred to the Gorey Market House Redevelopment and Esmonde Street Re-Generation Works, projects which he hoped will come to fruition.

Members and officials joined in congratulating the out-going Cathaoirleach and Leas-Chathaoirleach on their positive contributions, achievements, and worthy representation of the district throughout the year.

Chief Executive, Mr. T Enright offered his thanks on behalf of all Council Staff to the outgoing Cathaoirleach and Leas-Chathaoirleach, adding both served with distinction and afforded respect and courtesy to all. Mr. Enright offered Cllr Breen the full support of the Executive in bringing any projects over the line.

S:\1. GOREY MUNICIPAL DISTRICT\Meetings\Statutory Meetings 2023\June AGM\Minutes of Annual Meeting of Gorey-Kilmuckridge MD - 20th June 2023.docx

Cllr Kenny invited District Administrator, Mr. P Knight to chair the election of An Cathaoirleach.

### 1. Election of Cathaoirleach

Cllr W Kavanagh proposed Cllr P Breen as Cathaoirleach. Cllr Kavanagh's nomination was seconded by Cllr A Bolger.

Cllr A Donohoe proposed Cllr O Walsh as Cathaoirleach. Cllr Donohoe's nomination was seconded by Cllr D Devereux.

The matter was then put to vote, with a roll call. The vote was as follows:

Cllr A Bolger	PB
Cllr P Breen	PB
Cllr D Devereux	OW
Cllr A Donohoe	OW
Cllr M Farrell	PB
Cllr W Kavanagh	PB
Cllr D Kenny	PB
Cllr F Ó'Súilleabháin	Abstain
Cllr J Sullivan	PB
Cllr O Walsh	OW
Cllr Pip Breen	6
Cllr Oliver Walsh	3
Abstain	1

Cllr Pip Breen, on receiving the vote of the majority, was declared elected as Cathaoirleach and assumed the Chair.

Cllr Breen addressed the meeting and thanked his proposer and seconder for their nomination and support. He acknowledged the huge amount of work to be completed but assured the Committee that he would follow through with the commitment given by the Chief Executive to complete unfinished projects.

All members congratulated the in-coming Cathaoirleach and wished him well in the role.

Cllr Breen thanked all the Committee for their kind words and offered his commiserations to Cllr Walsh.

Cllr Walsh also thanked his proposer and seconder and wished Cllr Breen well in his chairmanship.

S:\1. GOREY MUNICIPAL DISTRICT\Meetings\Statutory Meetings 2023\June AGM\Minutes of Annual Meeting of Gorey-Kilmuckridge MD - 20th June 2023.docx

## 2. Election of Leas-Chathaoirleach

Cllr A Bolger proposed Cllr F Ó'Súilleabháin as Leas-Chathaoirleach. Cllr Bolger's nomination was seconded by Cllr W Kavanagh.

Cllr M Farrell proposed Cllr A Donohoe as Leas-Chathaoirleach. Cllr Farrell's nomination was seconded by Cllr O Walsh.

The matter was then put to vote, with a roll call. The vote was as follows:

Cllr A Bolger	FO'S
Cllr P Breen	FO'S
Cllr D Devereux	AD
Cllr A Donohoe	AD
Cllr M Farrell	AD
Cllr W Kavanagh	FO'S
Cllr D Kenny	FO'S
Cllr F Ó'Súilleabháin	FO'S
Cllr J Sullivan	FO'S
Cllr O Walsh	AD
Cllr Fionntán Ó'Súilleabháin	6
Cllr Anthony Donohoe	4

Cllr F Ó'Súilleabháin, on receiving the vote of the majority, was declared elected as Leas-Chathaoirleach and addressed the meeting.

Cllr Ó'Súilleabháin thanked his proposer and seconder for their nomination and support and said he was very honoured to hold this position.

All members congratulated the in-coming Leas-Chathaoirleach and wished him well in the role.

Cllr Ó'Súilleabháin thanked all the Committee for their kind words and offered his commiserations to Cllr Donohoe.

Cllr Donohoe also thanked his proposer and seconder and wished Cllr Ó'Súilleabháin well in the role.

# THIS CONCLUDED THE BUSINESS OF THE MEETING.

Daingnithe ar	an		la	de
---------------	----	--	----	----

2023

Pip Breen, Cathaoirleach, Gorey-Kilmuckridge Municipal District.