## MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MEMBERS OF ENNISCORTHY MUNICIPAL DISTRICT HELD ON MONDAY 23<sup>RD</sup> JUNE, 2025 AT 9:30 am IN THE PRESENTATION CENTRE, ENNISCORTHY

Attendance: Councillors: Cllr. Aidan Browne (Cathaoirleach)

Cllr. Pat Kehoe Cllr. Trish Byrne Cllr. John O'Rourke

Cllr. Jackser Owens (Leas-Cathaoirleach)

Cllr. Barbara-Anne Murphy

Officials: Ms. Carolyne Godkin, Director of Services

Ms. Claire Lawless, District Manager Ms. Barbara Nolan, Staff Officer

Members of the Public: Máirín Kehoe, Fidelma Murphy, Matt Redmond,

Treacy Gibson and Muireann Kelly

On teams Mr Simon Bourke, Independent Newspapers

Outgoing Cathaoirleach Cllr Aidan Browne thanked his colleagues, family and friends for all the support during the year. He thanked Leas Cathaoirleach Cllr Jackser Owens for always being on hand and said they had been a good partnership. He praised the management team and staff of Wexford County Council for their hard work and support. He also thanked the media for being there to report on events and said that it is very important to keep the public informed. He reflected that it had been an interesting year with both local elections and a general election. The elected members had worked very well together despite being down one member until recently and welcomed new Member Cllr Trish Byrne. Cllr Browne said he was proud to be associated with a lot of projects, in particular the development of the Astro Pitch and the launch of the Affordable Housing Scheme.

Cllr Owens said that it had been a pleasure to be Leas Cathaoirleach for the year, and he wished the incoming Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach the best of luck for the year ahead.

The Members joined in congratulating Cllr Browne on a very successful year and on a job well done.

Director of Services Carolyne Godkin thanked Cllr Browne and Cllr Owens on behalf of the Executive.

## 1. Election of Cathaoirleach.

On the proposal of Cllr. Browne, seconded by Cllr. Keogh the Members unanimously agreed to nominate Cllr. Murphy as Cathaoirleach of the Enniscorthy Municipal District. No further nominations were made and therefore Cllr. Browne declared Cllr. Murphy elected as Cathaoirleach of the Municipal District of Enniscorthy.

Cllr. Browne transferred the Chain of Office to Cllr. Murphy.

Cllr. Murphy thanked her proposers and said it was an honour to serve as Chairperson of the Enniscorthy Municipal District of Wexford County Council and to serve the people of Enniscorthy and District. Cathaoirleach Cllr Murphy said that she hoped that the Members of the Enniscorthy Municipal District would continue to work well together. Her priorities are more housing throughout the district and extension of CE scheme to Ferns and Bunclody. She welcomed the development of the car park at Murphy Floods site and the St John's Activity Garden. She highlighted some projects of particular interest including, Pairc na Gabhar Bunclody, Blackstairs Mountain being upgraded to a National Park and extended walks and trails to increase tourism. She committed to working with staff to deliver on projects and to communicating with the wider communities on the works that are being done.

## 2. Election of Leas Cathaoirleach.

The Cathaoirleach Cllr. Barbara-Anne Murphy called for proposals for Leas Cathaoirleach.

On the proposal of Cllr. Trish Byrne, seconded by Cllr. Browne, Cllr. Pat Kehoe was nominated. The Cathaoirleach asked the Members if there were any further nominations for the position. No other nominations were received.

The Cathaoirleach declared Cllr. Kehoe elected as Leas Cathaoirleach of the Municipal District of Enniscorthy.

Cllr. Kehoe thanked his proposer and seconder and declared that he would do his best to serve the people of Enniscorthy. He committed to work tirelessly for the district and also to highlight the positive things that are happening.

The Members and Executives extended their congratulations to and Cllr. Murphy and Cllr. Kehoe.

3.	Schedule	e of Me	etinas.
•.		<b> </b>	

It was proposed by Cllr O'Rourke and seconded by Cllr Keho	be that the schedule of meetings
circulated prior to the meeting be passed by the Members.	The meeting will be held on the
third Tuesday of each month at 9:30 am except for March 2	026 when the meeting will move
to Tuesday 24 <sup>th</sup> March.	_

This concluded the Business of the Meeting at 10:00 am.

Barbara-Anne Murphy	15 <sup>th</sup> July 2025
CATHAOIRLEACH	DATE