MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING OF ENNISCORTHY MUNICIPAL DISTRICT HELD ON MONDAY, 26TH JUNE 2023, AT 10:00AM PRESENTATION CENTRE, ENNISCORTHY.

Attendance: Councillors: Aidan Browne (Cathaoirleach)

Kathleen Codd-Nolan

John O'Rourke

Barbara Anne Murphy

Cathal Byrne (Leas Catheoirleach)

Jackser Owens

Officials: Ms. Carolyne Godkin, Director of Services

Mr Tom Enright, Chief Executive, Ms. Claire Lawless, District Manager

Ms. Edel Nolan, Staff Officer

Cllr. Browne opened the meeting as the standing Cathaoirleach of Enniscorthy Municipal District. He summarised key highlights during his time as Cathaoirleach and thanked Cllr. Byrne for his support as Leas Cathaoirleach.

He thanked his fellow elected Members and Council officials for their support over the last twelve months. Cllr Browne also wished Mr Brendan Keane, The People Newspaper the best in his new role in Waterford.

Cllr. Owens congratulated Cllr. Browne on the fantastic job he did as Cathaoirleach.

Cllr. Codd Nolan supported these sentiments and stated that Cllr. Browne was very easy to communicate with and also wished Mr Keane the best.

Cllr Byrne thanked and congratulated Cllr Browne on a very successful year in the chair.

Cllr. O'Rourke congratulated the outgoing Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach, complimenting the dignity with which they conducted themselves over the last twelve months.

Ms. Godkin congratulated and thanked Cllr. Browne on behalf of the Executive for his time served as Cathaoirleach, complimenting his ability to meet many challenging issues.

Mr Enright thanked Cllr Browne on behalf of all staff and the Executive for representing the District with distinction and also thanked Leas Cathaoirleach Cllr Byrne for his service.

1. Election of Cathaoirleach.

Cllr. Browne called for proposals for Cathaoirleach of the Enniscorthy Municipal District.

Cllr. Owens proposed Cllr. John O Rourke, seconded by Cllr. Murphy. Cllr Byrne nominated Cllr Kathleen Codd Nolan on behalf of the Fine Gael Party. Cllr Codd Nolan Seconded herself. Cllr Murphy proposed a role call. Ms Lawless, District Manager carried out the Role Call.

Cllr. John O Rourke received four votes, as follows:-

Cllr. Aidan Browne Cllr. Barbara-Anne Murphy Cllr Jackser Owens Cllr John O Rourke

Cllr. Kathleen Codd Nolan received two votes, as follows:-

Cllr. Cathal Byrne Cllr. Kathleen Codd Nolan

Following completion of the roll call Cllr. Browne declared Cllr. O Rourke elected as Cathaoirleach of the Municipal District of Enniscorthy and transferred the Chain of Office to Cllr O Rourke.

Cllr. O Rourke thanked his fellow Members for their support and acknowledged the great honor it was to now be Cathaoirleach of the Enniscorthy Municipal District or Captain of Team Enniscorthy.

He also thanked past members who had come before him and no longer with us. He highlighted some projects he would like to bring to Enniscorthy in his term, the provision of a Youth drop in center was his main issue.

Each of the Members congratulated and wished Cllr. O Rourke well in his role as Cathaoirleach.

2. Election of Leas Chathaoirleach.

The newly elected Cathaoirleach, Cllr. O Rourke called for proposals for Leas Chathaoirleach.

On the proposal of Cllr. Byrne seconded by Cllr. Codd Nolan, Cllr. Codd Nolan was nominated for the role of Leas Cathaoirleach.

On the proposal of Cathaoirleach O Rourke seconded by Cllr Murphy, Cllr Owens was also nominated.

Cllr Murphy proposed a roll call and Cllr Browne seconded the motion.

Ms Lawless, District Manager carried out the Role Call.

Cllr. Owens received four votes, as follows:-

Cllr. Aidan Browne Cllr. Barbara-Anne Murphy Cllr Jackser Owens Cllr John O Rourke

Cllr. Kathleen Codd Nolan received two votes, as follows:-

Cllr. Cathal Byrne

Cllr. Kathleen Codd Nolan

On completion of the Role Call the Cathaoirleach declared Cllr. Owens elected as Leas Cathaoirleach of the Enniscorthy Municipal District.

The newly elected Leas Cathaoirleach Cllr. Owens thanked the Members for their nomination.

3. Schedule of Meetings.

Following a brief discussion, on the proposal of Cllr. O Rourke, seconded by Cllr. Owens and agreed by all Members, it was agreed to trial holding the monthly meetings of Members of the Municipal District of Enniscorthy on the 3rd Monday of every month at 9.30 a.m. and amend standing orders accordingly from July 2023.

Cllr O Rourke then proposed that Cllr Browne continue as Chair of the Town Team, this was also seconded by Cllr Owens and agreed by all members.

	