#### WEXFORD COUNTY COUNCIL

# Minutes of Special Meeting of Wexford County Council Held Monday 9<sup>th</sup> June, 2025 in the Council Chamber at 12.30pm (with some remote attendance)

#### Attendance:

In the Chair: Cllr. Pip Breen, Cathaoirleach

#### **Councillors:**

Barden	Pat	Kehoe	Pat	Staples	Frank
Barron	Vicky (Online)	Kelly	Leonard (Online)	Staples	Robbie (Online)
Boland	Nicky	Kenny	Donal	Sullivan	Joe
Browne	Aidan	Laffan	Garry	Walsh	Catherine
Byrne	Patricia	McDonald	<b>Darragh</b> (Online)	Walsh	Oliver
Carthy	Ger	McDonald	Lisa		
Codd	Jim	Murphy	Barbara - Anne		
Donohoe	Anthony	Murphy	Bridín		
Doyle	Craig (Online)	Murphy	Marty		
Fleming	John	Owens	Jackser		
Kavanagh	Paddy	Sheehan	Michael		

#### **Officials:**

- Mr. Tom Banville, A/Director of Services
- Ms. Jackie Carroll, Director of Services
- Ms. Susan Doran, A/County Secretary
- Ms. Carolyne Godkin, Director of Services
- Mr. Eamonn Hore, Director of Services
- Ms. Lynda Lacey, Director of Finance
- Mr. Eddie Taaffe, Chief Executive

**Apologies:** Ms. Liz Hore, Director of Services, Cllr. John O'Rourke, Cllr. Aoife Rose O'Brien, Cllr. Tom Forde, Cllr. Raymond Shannon, Cllr. John Dwyer, Councillor Mary Farrell

Cathaoirleach Cllr. P. Breen began by welcoming Deputy Brian Brennan and Ms. Patricia Byrne, nominee for co-option, to the Chamber.

## 1. Filling of Casual Vacancy created by the election of Cathal Byrne to Seanad Eireann.

On the proposal of Cllr. Pat Kehoe, seconded by Cllr. Bridín Murphy, and agreed by all, Patricia Byrne was co-opted to fill the casual vacancy created by Cathal Byrne's election to Seanad Eireann in accordance with Section 19 of the Local Government Act 2001, as amended.

Cllr. P. Kehoe congratulated Patricia who he explained came from a large and well known Ballyhogue family and he said he looks forward to working with her on the Council.

Cllr. B. Murphy congratulated Patricia and welcomed the additional female elected member to the Chamber, bringing the number to eight.

Cathaoirleach Cllr. Pip Breen congratulated Cllr. Patricia Byrne and then proceeded to take further congratulations from the floor.

Councillors B.A. Murphy, C. Walsh, P. Barden, J. Codd, J. Owens, M. Sheehan, and P. Kavanagh congratulated Cllr. Byrne on her co-option and wished her well.

Councillor Patricia Byrne thanked everyone for their support and best wishes. She said she looked forward to working on the Council to deal with issues.

Mr. E. Taaffe and the Senior Management Team offered Cllr. Byrne their congratulations.

## 2. Appointment of Chair of the Economic Development and Enterprise SPC

On the proposal of ClIr O. Walsh, seconded by ClIr A. Donohoe, and agreed by all, ClIr. Frank Staples was selected as Chair of the Economic Development and Enterprise SPC.

## 3. Appointment of Member to Regional Health Forum

On the proposal of Cllr. BA Murphy, seconded by Cllr. O. Walsh, and agreed by all, Cllr. Ger Carthy was appointed as a member of the Regional Health Forum.

## THIS CONCLUDED THE BUSINESS OF THE MEETING.

Daingithe ar an lá de Iúil, 2025.

Cllr. Joe Sullivan Cathaoirleach Michael Drea, County Secretary