WEXFORD COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of Meeting of Wexford County Council Held in the Street, County Hall, Wexford on Monday 14th January 2022 at 2.30pm

Attendance:

In the Chair: Cllr. B. A. Murphy Cathaoirleach.

Councillors:

BARDEN	PAT	DONOHOE	ANTHONY	MCDONALD	LISA
BELL	MAURA	FARRELL	MARY	MOORE	JIM
BOLGER	ANDREW	FLEMING	JOHN	MURPHY	BRIDIN
BREEN	PIP	FORDE	том	O'ROURKE	JOHN
BROWNE	AIDAN	HEGARTY	JOHN		
BYRNE	CATHAL	HYNES	DAVID		
CARTHY	GER	KAVANAGH	WILLIE	SHEEHAN	MICHAEL
CODD	JIM	KELLY	LEONARD	STAPLES	FRANK
CODD-NOLAN	KATHLEEN	KENNY	DONAL	SULLIVAN	JOE
		LAFFAN	GARY	WALSH	OLIVER
DEVEREUX	DIARMUID	LAWLOR	GEORGE	WHELAN	MICHAEL

Officials:

Mr. T. Enright, Chief Executive

Mr. T. Larkin, Director of Services

Mr. E. Hore, Director of Services

Ms. A. O'Neill, Head of Finance

Ms. C. Godkin, Director of Services

Ms. Liz Hore, Director of Services

Mr. D. Minogue, County Secretary

Other: Mr. Michael Lannigan, Independent Legal Advisor to the Elected members

Apologies: Councillors: A. Connick, F. O'Suilleabhain, J. Owens

1. Vote of Sympathy

On the proposal of the Cathaoirleach, seconded by Cllr. J. Sullivan, the Members unanimously resolved to pass a Vote of Sympathy to the Murphy Family of Cully, Blueball, County Offaly, following the recent tragic death of Ms. Aisling Murphy.

A Minute's Silence was observed.

Consideration of the Report of the Investigation by the Standards in Public Office
 Commission of Alleged Contraventions of the Ethics in Public Office Act 1995 and 2001
 and Part 15 of the Local Government Act 2001 - Mr. Tom Enright, Chief Executive,
 Wexford County Council

The Council invited the Chief Executive to make a submission in respect of the above Report. In response, Mr. Enright referenced his submission as circulated earlier to the Elected Members, and briefly summarised the contents for the Member's information and consideration.

In his submission Mr. Enright categorically stated his belief that he acted at all times in good faith and expressed his regret for the tone of the emails which were the subject of the SIPO Report. The CE also confirmed that while he did not agree with much of SIPO's findings, he accepted them and the role of SIPO and confirmed his intention not to challenge the SIPO findings.

There followed a lengthy discussion to which many members contributed. Members spoke positively about the Chief Executive's contribution to the Council and to the County, with many expressing the view that Mr. Enright had acted in good faith at all times and in the best interests of the Council.

Cllr. T. Forde questioned the appropriateness of correspondence received by the Council members on the previous day from a member of the Oireachtas, seeking to influence the decision of the Members on this issue.

Cllr. P. Barden expressed his concern that the time period between the date of the SIPO report and the decision of the Council was very short and did not afford the members sufficient time in which to consider the SIPO report and subsequent submission of the Chief Executive.

The majority of Members confirmed they had considered the Report and the submission of Mr. Enright and were satisfied that they were in a position to proceed to a decision as provided for in the relevant legislation.

The Cathaoirleach then advised the members that she proposed to invite Mr. Lannigan, Legal Advisor, to advise the Council on the various matters raised. In response, Mr. Lannigan indicated he was happy to do so, but he indicated that it was appropriate that such advice be offered to the Members only, as they were his clients in the matter.

On the proposal of the Cathaoirleach, seconded by Cllr. Carthy, the Council resolved to adjourn the meeting for a period to allow the Members to be briefed by Mr. Lannigan. The Council then adjourned and all attendees other than the Elected Members withdrew.

The adjournment lasted approximately 30 minutes and the meeting then reconvened.

Cllr. O. Walsh proposed that the Council, having considered the Sipo Report and having invited a submission from Mr. Enright on the matter and having considered same, resolve to note the Report and to take no further action in the matter.

Cllr. Walsh's proposal was seconded by Cllr. P. Breen. There were no further proposals.

It was agreed to vote on the proposal by way of roll-call, and the results of that roll-call are recorded below:

Special Meeting of Wexford County Council - Friday 14th January 2022 - Outcome of Roll Call Vote								
BARDEN	PAT	AB	FARRELL	MARY	F	MURPHY	BARBARA-ANNE	F
BELL	MAURA	F	FLEMING	JOHN	F	MURPHY	BRIDIN	F
BOLGER	ANDREW	F	FORDE	TOM	F	O'ROURKE	JOHN	F
BREEN	PIP	F	HEGARTY	JOHN	F	O'SUILLEABHAIN	FIONNTAIN	AS
BROWNE	AIDAN	F	HYNES	DAVID	F	OWENS	JACKSER	AS
BYRNE	CATHAL	F	KAVANAGH	WILLIE	F	SHEEHAN	MICHAEL	F
CARTHY	GER	F	KELLY	LEONARD	F	STAPLES	FRANK	F
CODD	JIM	F	KENNY	DONAL	F	SULLIVAN	JOE	F
CODD- NOLAN	KATHLEEN	F	LAFFAN	GARY	F	WALSH	OLIVER	F
CONNICK	ANTHONY	AS	LAWLOR	GEORGE	F	WHELAN	MICHAEL	F
DEVEREUX	DIARMUID	F	MCDONALD	LISA	F			
DONOHOE	ANTHONY	F	MOORE	JIM	F			
F = For, A = Against, AB = Abstain, AS = Absent								

On a vote of 30 in favour and 1 abstention the Cathaoirleach declared the proposal carried.

At the invitation of the Cathaoirleach, Director of Services Eamonn Hore then made a statement on behalf of the Management Team. The statement strongly supported the Chief Executive Mr. Enright and congratulated the Chief Executive for his continuing contribution to the work of the Council and to the people of Wexford.

At the conclusion of his statement, Mr. Hore's remarks were warmly applauded by the attendance.

At the invitation of the Cathaoirleach, the Chief Executive then made a concluding statement. Mr. Enright thanked the Members, the staff, his family and the many members of the public who supported the Chief Executive during what was a very difficult period. In his statement. the Chief Executive declared his intention to look to put a Service Level Agreement in place with South East Radio to facilitate an improved relationship into the future.

At the end of his statement Mr. Enright was afforded a warm round of applause and standing ovation by the attendance.

THIS CONCLUDED THE BUSI	NESS OF THE MEETING		
Daingithe ar an	lá de Feabhra, 2022.		
Cllr Barbara-Anne Murphy		David Minogue,	
Cathaoirleach		County Secretary	