Types of Burial Grounds in County Wexford

Burial Grounds

There are currently four major categories of burial ground in the county.

  1. Old closed burial grounds vested in the County Council. 
  2. Eleven village/rural burial grounds and one urban burial ground (Summerhill, Enniscorthy) operated by Wexford County Council.
  3. Burial grounds in each of the four major towns.
    Town Burial Grounds
    Town Burial Ground
    Wexford Crosstown
    New Ross St. Stephens Joint Local Authority Burial Ground
    Enniscorthy St. Mary’s  - St. Mary's Burial Ground Committee
    Summerhill - Wexford County Council
    Gorey St. Michaels Parish Committee

    4. Parish operated burial grounds.

Right of Interment in a closed (Vested) Burial Ground

Application Form

Burial Ground Legislation

The principle legislation governing Sanitary Authorities in relation to Burial Grounds is as follows: