Min Ryan Park is a landmark public park designed to complement the quality of life for people in Wexford by providing a high quality and attractive open public space, which is accessible to all.
The park boasts an array of attractive features, including a playground, picnic area, dog park, memorial garden, walking track, water features, multi-use events area, play spaces, wildflower meadows and art/sculpture displays. The Park also includes a series of rich, biodiverse eco-systems such as a wetland area, wildflower meadows and native woodland habitats.
A purpose-built skate-park and Multi Use Games Area were also opened in 2022, providing another important amenity in Wexford Town.
The park is named after Mary Josephine (Min) Ryan, who was from Tomcoole, Co. Wexford, and was a founding member of Cumann na mBan. Min also served at the G.P.O during the 1916 Easter Rising and went onto marry General Richard Mulcahy, Commander-in Chief of the National Army in the Irish Civil War and, latterly, leader of Fine Gael. Min died in 1977, aged 92.
The Mulcahy Family
In 2016, the Mulcahy family gave a very generous donation of €200,000 to help with the construction of the park in commemoration of their relative Min Ryan. Min Ryan served in the G.P.O. and Jacob's factory during the 1916 Rising.
This project was part funded by the Government of Ireland through the Outdoor Recreation Infrastructure Scheme (ORIS).